top of page
  • Writer's pictureXandria Cross

2018 PLAYLIST

Updated: Jan 1, 2019


Do you ever find music takes you back to certain memories or certain feelings? I sure do! Here's a look back at my top songs in the last year and what they meant to me...

Being a singer/songwriter myself, I have a deep appreciation for music. A disclaimer before I get too far into this, I don't support everything some of these artists or songs stand for, but I have to appreciate good music and unique sounds when I hear them. I made a video answering whether or not Christians should listen to secular music, and It's linked here:

https://youtu.be/d9Rv7axBEGk


So I love all different kinds of Music; Pop, Hip-Hop, Rap, Rock, Musical Theater, Worship, the list goes on! I'll break down my faves of the year into different categories:


POP

Pop is the OG for me. It's the base for all my music and I just LOVE it!! Here are my top pop picks from 2018:

-Whisper by Xandria Cross

Ok, so shameless self promo, this was my first single of the year and it has a special meaning to me. Written about my bullying journey, I hope this encourages others who have dealt with or are dealing with bullying.

-Stars by Xandria Cross

My second single of this year, "Stars" is a reminder for me to reach for my dreams in the times I get discouraged. I also LOVE the pop vibe of this one!

-Brave by Xandria Cross

My latest single was written as an anthem and has a super upbeat vibe!

-Sorry Not Sorry (clean) by Demi Lovato

So this is one of the songs where I don't fully agree with with the message, but recognizing where I stand, it's a super fun song and I love jamming to it.

-End Game by Taylor Swift Ft. Future and Ed Sheeran

So Taylor's Reputation album was on replay the beginning of this year, and this is definitely one of my faves! This also has some lyrics I don't agree with but I just make up my own when singing along, lol!

-Breathin (clean) by Ariana Grande

This song has a really unique sound that I like! The message is a good reminder that sometimes we need to just take a sec and breathe. The cussing isn't necessary so I'd recommend the clean version:-)

-Believer by Imagine Dragons

I'm sure you all know this song, but I have a thing for it and I even learned picking on the guitar just so I could play this song!

-Blood//Water by Grandson

I don't know if this is necessarily considered pop, but the sound of this song inspired one of my songs coming in 2019!

-Guillotine by Jon Bellion

I heard the music for this song and became obsessed!! It has a super cool feel and unique songwriting approach that I love!


Hip-Hop/Rap

Ok, so I gotta admit I listen to a ton of rap. It gets me so hyped, so I strategically listen to it while I'm working out or jamming in the car..basically anytime I need energy, lol! When trying to pick out my top songs of the year I also noticed it was the following songs that got the most plays. So here's the list:

-Green Lights by NF

Listened to this song about a hundred million times..

-Tuyo by Social Club Misfits

Love this song!!! The latin vibe is killer!

-Whatchu Mean by Lecrae Ft. Aha Gazelle

I've run SO hard to this on the treadmill..it's fire..

-No Name by NF

If you want to hear some real rhymes this song is for you.

-Come and Get Me by Lecrae

THE BASS IN THIS SONG!!! Played this so much my whole family knows the lyrics.

-Not Today Satan by KB

YO this is a JAM!! The first time I heard this I was like "How have I not heard this song?!"

-Judo by Andy Mineo & Wordsplayed

This song is just so fun, I love it!!

-If You Want Love by NF

This is a softer song, but its super raw and emotional. I loved it so much i did cover of it! Check it out here: https://youtu.be/rIbje143e-k



Worship/CCM/Other

These songs are super inspirational and encouraging. Here are a few of my faves:

-You Say by Lauren Daigle

This song speaks to me so much and I love belting it out in the car:-)

-Joy by For King and Country

I love this song SO MUCH!!! It has a really catchy beat and it's an awesome reminder to choose joy each day. Shoutout to my friend Seth Mosley who was a writer on this song and just got a Grammy nomination for it!!

-Known by Tauren Wells

It's such a simple song but the truth of the words make it so powerful.

-Reckless Love by Cory Asbury

This is another one I really connect to! It's so refreshing and I love the message.

-What If by Blanca

This gets me going!!! If you need an encouraging dance-y song this is for you!

-Hills and Valleys by Tauren Wells

Another simple song from Tauren but SO good! His vocals are incredible and fun fact, I've had that honor of taking a vocal class that he taught and he's a great dude.

-Every Beat by North Point

This song reminds me of summer camp with my besties and it is also super fun..

-All the Wrong Things by Brannon Murphy

I randomly discovered this one on the radio, and I've been totally into it since!

-The Greatest Showman Soundtrack

So who wasn't obsessed with this?!?! I loved this movie and the songs are GOLD!!!



So there you have it!!! My 2018 playlist! I created this playlist on spotify if you wanna check out these tunes. Here's the link: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0WPWV0SQ9qO9B5dpKsI78c?si=M0hBjessQYqpnwNtI2ayIA



-XOXO Xandria

48 views0 comments
bottom of page